Private Tours Romania
Our Facebook page Google Plus Blogspot

Exchange rates

  • EUR = 4.7204 Lei
  • USD = 4.2231 Lei
  • GBP = 5.2539 Lei
  • AUD = 2.9652 Lei
  • CAD = 3.2139 Lei
Barsana Monastery Bran Castle Danube Delta Peles Castle Sibiu Old Town

About Romania



This name was adopted in 1862, after the forming of the national state by the merging of Moldova and Walachia  (two Romanian principalities) in 1859.

International abbreviation: ROU

Location: in South-East Central Europe, North of the Balkan Peninsula, on the Lower Danube (43°37"07"" and 48°15"06"" North latitude and to 20°15"44"" and 29°41"24" East latitude) 


Romania’s borders represent 3 146, 7 kilometers. Two third are marked by the Danube, Prut and Tisa rivers or follow the Black Sea shoreline while the remaining one third is represented by land border. Romanian’s territorial waters extend to 12 nautical miles into the Black Sea.


Romania has five countries as neighbors, the Black Sea being the last neighbor. To the NE and E, Romania has borders with the Republic of Moldova, to the N and E with Ukraine, to the SE with the Black Sea, to the S with Bulgaria, to the SW with Serbia and to the W with Hungary.


With a surface area of 238,391 square kilometers Romania is the largest country in southeastern Europe and the thirteen largest in Europe. The Danube flows into the Black Sea within Romania's territory forming the Danube Delta, the second largest and the best preserved delta in Europe, and a biosphere reserve and a biodiversity
World Heritage Site.

Administrative divisions.

According to article 3 of the Romanian Constitution, the Romanian territory is divided into communes, cities and counties. In Romania, there are 41 counties. Bucharest- the capital city –has a similar status as a county. A county has an approximated surface of 5800 square kilometers and a population of 500.000 habitants.

Capital city.

Bucharest. It is the most important city of Romania, with the largest population, being the political, administrative and economical center of the country. It is located in S-SE part of Romania.


21,680,976 (March 2003, source: National Statistics Institute). As population, Romania is the 43rd state in the world and the 9th state in Europe. Bucharest has almost 2.100.000 inhabitants, 7 cities exceed 300.000 inhabitants and 24 cities exceed 100.000 habitants.

Ethnic structure: Romanians - 89.5%; Hungarians (including Szecklers)- 6.5%; Roma - 2.5%; other ethnic groups -1.5%

Religious structure.

Eastern Orthodox - 86.8%; Roman-Catholic-4.7%; Protestant - 3.2%; Greek-Catholic - 0.9%, Evangelical - 0.1%; other religions - 0.4% (preliminary data, March 2003).

Official language.

Romanian, the mother tongue for 91% of the Romanian population. Hungarian is spoken by the most numerous ethnical minority and German language by the German minority. The main foreign languages used in Romania are: English, French and German.



National day.  

December the 1st was adopted as National Day in 1990. It symbolizes the union of all Romanians within a single state and the achievement of the unity of the Romanian national state.

Legal holidays.

1 and 2 of January (The New Year), the second day of Easter, Labor Day, National Day, 25 and 26 of December (Christmas).

Standard time.

East European zone lime (GMT + 2 hours). As of 1979, from the last Sunday in March to the last Sunday in September, Daylight Saving Time (GMT + 3 hours). Romania lies in the same time zone with the Republic of Moldova, Finland, Greece, Israel, Egypt and the Republic of South Africa.

Form of government.




EU and NATO member state

Romanian president.

Traian Basescu, since 2004. The president is elected by popular vote for maximum two terms. Also, he is the supreme commander of the army forces.

Legislative power.

Romanian Parliament elected by a universal scrutiny for 4 years. It consists of two chambers: the Senate with 140 members and the Chamber of Deputies with 346 members.

Executive power.

Romanian Government is leaded by the Prime-minister appointed by the President. The Prime-minister is sworn in Parliament and he is responsible in front of it.